Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Self Teaching High School Math Analysis(pre calculus)

1. Mar 29, 2007 #1
    This year I am a sophomore in High School taking Algebra II. Since I got a B this year in honors English, I decided to self teach myself Precalcus(Math Analysis) with the hopes of taking AP Calculus BC my Junior year. I want to impress the colleges,chiefly The Wharton School of Finance, with my mathematical ability. First, is this conceivable(I got all A's in Algebra II)? Second, how truly difficult is Calculus BC? I am up for any challenge, but I would like to know what I would be getting myself into.

Thanks in advance for your input.

Gerry

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 29, 2007 #2
    Ok im sorry i dont quite catch how getting a B in english relates, but w/e. Go for it I skipped the first half of Math analysis, and its not that hard, and its definetly do-able, maybe try and find a senior at your school that could help you, if they tutor you it would be relatively cheap, and they are fairly fresh with the material. Go for it, and have fun in BC next year, hopefully ill be in that class as well

4. Mar 29, 2007 #3
    Well, I am hoping that taking a AP Calculus BC as a Junior and getting an A will offset the effects of a B in English on my College transcript.

5. Mar 29, 2007 #4
    i dont think a b looks that bad, what was the number grade, because if it doesnt hurt your gpa too much then it doesnt matter

6. Mar 29, 2007 #5