SEPnet Internships: Yay or nay?

• Thread starter H Smith 94
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Internships
In summary, the conversation revolved around the topic of a student looking for a summer internship and the recommendation to apply for the SEPnet program. The student expressed concerns about the usefulness of the program and the possible lack of meaningful work experience, but the other participant shared positive experiences and highlighted the benefits of the SEPnet program. The conversation ended with the student expressing gratitude and sharing which university they attend.
H Smith 94
Gold Member
Hi!

I am currently a 2nd year physics undergraduate looking for a summer internship. Our employability mentor is really pushing this http://www.sepnet.ac.uk/students_employers/careers_placements/internships/info_students.html and I'm interested but worried about how useful it will actually be.

I'm always a little wary of employability mentors as I know they have a lot of boxes to tick and don't always provide the most useful or fulfilling work advice. Essentially I don't want to waste my time when I could be doing something more worthwhile.

Is there anyone here who either works as part of the SEPnet network or who has taken an internship or placement via SEPnet, and what would your comments be about it?

Thanks in advance!

Regards,
Harry

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org