Shaving Help, razor burns and cutting myself

1. Hi.

I've been shaving for about 5 years or so, but recently I've been having problems. Before I did get shaving rash, but now it's getting worse and I'm also getting razor burns and cutting myself (I'm a man, btw), I also need to shave more regularly now.

My father never taught me how to shave, and anyway he's no good at it either. Any help would be appreciated.

I did do a google search first for tips, but websites contradict each other, and some seem to be promoting specific products. For example, most websites say you should use 3 or 4 blades, but I came across one that said one blade is the best.

Here is how I do it. I shave after my shower, about once every 5 days (until recently, once a week). I put on the shaving gel, wet my razor with warm water, then shave against the grain. I've also read contradictory this about this on the web.

I start with the neck and under the chin, then the sides, then the chin and lip. Every now and then I clean the razor with warm water. After shaving I put on alcohol-based aftershave (more contradictory reports).

I use a Gillette disposable razor with 3 blades, which I don't change too often. I did try shaving with the grain, but it leaves stubble everywhere, it just doesn't shave close enough.

Any help, please?
  2. jcsd
  3. Ryan_m_b

Staff: Mentor

Re: Shaving, Help Please.

I haven't shaved in a number of years (I long ago decided to embrace the beard) but I used to have to shave quite regularly, every day or every other day. You sound like you're doing everything OK, the only tips I have are to try not shaving against the grain and to use some sort of aftershave balm. Sometimes I used to get razor rash so I would use something like this as opposed to some sort of cologne.
  4. Re: Shaving, Help Please.

Yes, I did try shaving with the grain, but I can never get a close enough shave, I'm always left with stubble.