Shut up and calculate wave guides

• Thread starter Ahmad Kishki
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Wave
In summary, Jason is fed up with the "shut up and calculate" attitude of Pozar and is looking for a book that does not have this attitude.
Ahmad Kishki
i have been using Pozar's microwave engineering so far in my electromagnetics courses, and i have become increasingly frustrated with its "shut up and calculate" approach. I am fed up. Wave guides are explained very poorly, with me wasting so much time to try to reason each step. The book isn't for undergraduates as its says in the preface, but our uni nevertheless follows it.

So, can i get recommendations for books about waveguides that don't follow such an attitude of "shut up and calculate"?

I am well versed in (undergraduate) electrodynamics having done a two semester course for it - but i am not well acquainted with transmission line theory. I am an undergraduate communications engineer.

Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
Could you give an example of what is frustrating? My copy of Pozar isn't with me right now, but I have always found it to be reasonable for most topics.

In any case, many engineering electromagnetics books cover this material. I would recommend looking at the following in your university library:

• Electromagnetic waves, by Inan and Inan (very well written in general)
  • Electromagnetic waves and radiating systems, by Jordan and Balmain (tends to have a lot of words in-between equations to explain what is going on)
  • Fields and waves in communication electronics, by Ramo, Whinnery and Van Duzer (very good for transmission lines and waveguides, in my opinion. One of the few books I have essentially worn out because I have used it so much)
  • Field and wave electromagnetics, by Cheng (worth a look)
  • Foundations for microwave engineering, by Collin (some like it better than Pozar, but I find Pozar to be more clear for most topics)