Simplifying Circuit Diagrams: Understanding Topology and Resistor Placement

In summary, the conversation discusses simplifying a circuit and whether or not the two drawn circuits are the same. It is suggested to upload a diagram to a photobucket account and post the link instead of attaching it. The question is raised if moving wires around can change the resistors in series or parallel, and it is determined that the key is the topology of the circuit. As long as the terminals are connected at any node, the layout of the circuit does not matter for DC circuits.
johnj7

Homework Statement

This is not a homework problem, but I'm studying for the mcat, and had some trouble figuring out how to simplify a circuit. Could someone look at the attached picture pdf? (the diagram is painless, i promise) Are the circuits I have drawn the same?

Thank you!

Attachments

• [Untitled].pdf
    108.4 KB · Views: 200
Physics news on Phys.org
It may take awhile to get your attachment approved. I would suggest uploading the diagram to a photobucket account (or something of the sort), and posting the link.

johnj7 said:

Homework Statement

This is not a homework problem, but I'm studying for the mcat, and had some trouble figuring out how to simplify a circuit. Could someone look at the attached picture pdf? (the diagram is painless, i promise) Are the circuits I have drawn the same?

Thank you!

All the resistors with values are connected to the same node in your drawing. Why wouldn't they be the same?

hmm, well i just thought it was a bit confusing, i didn't know you could move wires around like that, because maybe that would change which resistors are in series or in parallel. but i guess that's not true at all.

so bottom line is, you can move the wires however you like as long as its just wire and no resistors are moved/replaced?

johnj7 said: