Simulating dark matter by assuming stable solution

In summary, the conversation is discussing attempts to constrain models of dark matter by assuming stable solutions for the universe. The question is whether there are any attempts at creating a minimum constraint model based on observations and previous simulations. The response clarifies that the universe is expanding and out of equilibrium, making it difficult to find a stable solution. The primary interest is in the thoughts of other researchers on this subject.
ohannuks
Hey,

I've a short question. Is there any research attempting to constrain models of dark matter by assuming stable solution for the universe? I'm interested in knowing whether this gives any sensible constraints on the dark matter models.

I'm still fairly new to studying dark matter but as I understand there are loads of different models floating around; Warm Dark Matter (WDM), Cold Dark Matter (CDM) (with and without collisions), self-annihilating dark matter, fuzzy dark matter (non-relativistic bose condensate), and so forth. The idea has been, as far as I understand, is to try to constrain the dark matter model to fit the observations, and to constrain the "Dark Matter particle" properties.

The researches I've read about have been done as follows (as far as I understand):
  1. Make an educated guess on the properties of dark matter while letting one or two variables regarding the 'dark matter particle' go unconstrained
  2. Run the simulation from initial stage to final stage (final stage usually being the observable universe)
  3. Analyze the result and compare with observations

My question is whether there are any attempts at doing the following in any shape or form (and I'd appreciate it if I could read about them):
  1. Make a model with as little constraints as possible
  2. Create an initial stage based on observations and corrections to the results of previous simulations (effectively this means creating the observable universe)