Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simulink model of a hybrid vehicle (replace battery with fuel cell)

1. Oct 29, 2016 #1
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 30, 2016 #2

Andrew Mason

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

It sounds like you are using the fuel cell to run the motor directly. I am not an expert on fuel cells but it may be difficult to match the energy demand of the motor during acceleration with the output characteristics of the fuel cell. The energy management system in a hybrid also charges the battery using dynamic braking. I don't think you can capture the vehicle's kinetic energy during braking with fuel cell. Perhaps you should look at combining a fuel cell with a battery in a purely electric vehicle and forget about the internal combustion engine.

AM

4. Jan 31, 2018 #3
    salutations,
    i need help from modeling supercapacitors and buck boost dc dc converter with simulink of matlab.

my problems is: how choise parameters from supercapacitors and converter ?

this block will be used for supply the inverter, and pmsm.
    cordialy

5. Jan 31, 2018 #4
    greetings.
    Thank you for your reply.

here you are right. during acceleration, supercapacitors must be used.

The energy management system in a hybrid also charges supercapacitors or batteries using dynamic braking.

right now I'm using a combination of a fuel cell with a pack of supercapacitors in an electric vehicle.
    I have a question if possible.

here is a pmsm of 50kw, what are the parameters of the fuel cell and supercapacitors to use?
    Cordially.

6. Jan 31, 2018 #5

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

By "pmsm" do you mean switched-mode power supply (SMPS)?

And as for the parameters to start to use in your model, I would think you would start with the datasheets for each component, and figure out how best to model the component based on the datasheet numbers and plots.