Solving the Rewinding Tension Control Puzzle: A Production Engineer's Story

In summary: If it's too low, try raising the tension. If it's too high, try lowering the tension. It's that simple. And it's more efficient that trying to calibrate everything.In summary, the manual controls of this rewinder do not allow the user to accurately calculate the torque required to wind the web. The manufacturer has replied that the manual controls mean the user has to work out the optimal tension by "feel". However, the user is seeking a more efficient way of working this out. The recommended course of action is to start winding product and find what happens if the tension is too high, and what happens if the tension is too...low. If it's too low, try raising the
RDTHOMGT
So, this problem is going to require some explaining..

I'm a Production Engineer who's recently started working at an adhesive tape converter/distributor and I've been working on an industrial rewinding machine for films, tapes, foams etc. The tapes I rewind range from 0.2mm - 3mm thickness, 1000mm - 1300mm in width, and up to 500M in length (diameter of each bulk roll being up to 800mm).

I'm familiar with the principles & equations of tension control:
  • linear rate of tension decrease from unwinding bulk roll, and linear rate of tension increase as rewinding roll builds.
  • The ideal tension is around 25% of material's tensile strength
  • Tension = Torque/Radius
  • Pounds per Linear Inch (PLI) = Total Tension (lbs) / Web Width (in)

The rewinder I'm working on was purchased abroad for a low price.

PROBLEMS:
  1. Unfortunately, the TENSION CONTROLS for this machine are completely MANUAL.
  2. The AMMETER reading dials are not accurately calibrated to the corresponding amps of the brake (at the unwind mandrel, this ammeter stops at 2A) and the induction motor (at the rewind mandrel, the ammeter stops at 2.4A).