Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A Some questions about the PFSS model on IMF

1. Jun 10, 2017 #1
    Hey guys, I am a Chinese student who is now reading the doctoral dissertation written by Mr. Heoksema, Structure and Evolution of the Large-Scale Solar and Heliospheric Magnetic Fields, for the preparation of my bachelor thesis. But some puzzles arise while reading the mathematic development of the model in chapter three. If you happen to have read this thesis before, it will be very appreciated to shed some light on those puzzles for me. Thank you very much!

Last edited: Jun 10, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 10, 2017 #2
    1.While changing the order of the summation of index ##l## and ##m## when dealing with the line-of-sight component of the photospheric field, the writer omit the minus part of m.(P45)

as we know, the index m range from ##-l## through zero to ##l## for one certian ##l## in the spherical harmonics function, so for the nonnegative part of m, the following equation is right:
    ##\sum^{\infty}_{l=0}\sum^{l}_{m=0}A_{lm}=\sum_{m}\sum^{\infty}_{l=m}A_{lm}##​
    but, for the negative part, the right equation is:
    ##\sum^{\infty}_{l=1}\sum^{-1}_{m=-l}A_{lm}=\sum_{m}\sum^{\infty}_{l=-m}A_{lm}##​
    in the dissertation of Mr. Hoeksema, the first equation is used, for which the only logical explanation I come up with is that he omit the negative part of m, but he doesn't explain why this ignorance is adequate.

Last edited: Jun 10, 2017
  4. Jun 10, 2017 #3
    2.The orthogonal coefficient the writer shows for the spherical harmonics function is not consistent with what I learn. (P46)
    Of course the orthogonal coefficient will not affect the result for different ##l,l^{'}## or different ##m,m^{'}##, so let’s focus on the equal ones. And as far as I know, the orthogonal coefficient of associated Legendre Polynomial is: