What is the optimal voltage for a stepper motor?

In summary, Dave tested out a stepper motor and found that it operates at 5.7 volts and 1 amp per phase. He found that if he exceeds the 5.7 volt rating, the motor may overheat and potentially smoke. He recommends using a resistor of about 10 watts to reduce the heat generated by the motor.
pekpek
Hello All,

I am a ME student but, I'm trying to teach myself EE. I am testing out a stepper motor. Here are the specs for the motor:

Rated Voltage: 5.7V
Rated Current: 1A per Phase
Resistance per Phase: 5.7V

I am using 15 VDC and want to make sure I don't blow the motor. Using Ohm's Law, VInput = R * IMotor, I get 15 = 1(I) which gives me a resistance of 15 ohms.

My Questions:
(1) What is rated voltage? Is that the optimal voltage for the stepper motor?
(2) What happens if I go above the rated voltage?
(3) If I use a 15 Ohm resistor, will this be enough so the motor doesn't blow?

I am clearly missing something here. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in Advance.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Hi there :)

Rated Voltage: 5.7V
Rated Current: 1A per Phase
Resistance per Phase: 5.7VThink you typo'ed there

resistance isn't measured in V ... is it 5.7 Ohms or something totally different ?

Dave

Yes. Sorry. The Resistance per phase is 5.7 ohms.

Bump. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

The V=5.7V and the R=5.7 Ohms? -- There are stepper motor controllers, and a large amount of info on line. If you just want to experiment with the motor - you probably want to get a voltage regulator, V value in the range of the Stepper motor's ratings, or an adjustable one.
If you are looking to actively control the stepper - then the best solution may depend on what you plan to use as a controller. -- the stepper motor is not a fixed resistance - so using a resistor as a voltage divider may not yield the result you are looking for.

Here's a decent tutorial

that seems to have started with this little TI intro