Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Struct array memory layout of the elements

1. Sep 20, 2011 #1
    hi every one ,

i am new in data structure course

i need help in this :

Code (Text):

Struct Person
    {
    Char name[20];
    int id;
    float gpa;
    };
    Person student[5];
    Compute the addresses of all the elements of array student and show a memory layout for the array if the address of the first element is 0x0012FF1A.

some what i did :
    i did account that there is 28 bytes = 1c in hex
    and i know that i have to add 1C to the address 0x0012FF1A and i think i'll get 0x0012FF36

my problem is if the first address 0x0012FF1A is the address for the first byte student[0]

so should i keep adding 1C to the previous address until i arrive to student[5]

just wondering and also how it is look like the memory layout . is there 28 bytes between every array like between student[0] and student[1]

thanx alot

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 20, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 20, 2011 #2
    First note that most compilers by default put each member on a word or long boundary, especially if you have speed optimization enabled. You can override that with certain compiler directives (like 'pack') or command line options. However it looks like each member in that struct is already a multiple of longs, so it should already be packed.

student[0] is a struct.
    &student[0] is the address of the first struct.
    student[4] is the last element (not student[5].

But in answer to your question, yes you can add 0x1C to iterate the elements but only if you know they are packed (and I think they are from the size of them) but sometimes compilers optimize in strange ways, so be careful. using sizeof should be useful.

4. Sep 21, 2011 #3

chiro

Science Advisor