Struggling with Calculus? Here's How to Master the Concepts and Applications

• Thread starter Mu naught
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Calculus
In summary: Calculus I) was even better. The lecturer, David Jerison is awesome. If you enjoyed 18.02, you'll be amazed by... In summary, one of the books that people suggested for me to read before trying to learn calculus again is "The Calculus Lifesaver" by Adrian Banner. This book is difficult, but it will help you understand the concepts of calculus better. Another book that people recommended is "The Calculus Lifesaver" by Adrian Banner. This book is difficult, but it will help you understand the concepts of calculus better.
Mu naught
Sorry if this isn't the right forum. I'm aspiring to be a physics major next year, and I'm in my 2nd semester of physics. I've also taken calculus 2. What I've learned this past year is the following:

1) I'm fairly good at physics and I really enjoy it.
2) I'm horrible at calculus and have no idea how to apply it.

I got an A in calc 1 and calc 2, yet I really have no clue how to even use calculus! Somehow I missed the key ideas along the way, and that's probably my fault although I can't say I had the greatest teacher... So I'm really scared that I'm setting myself up for failure if i don't fix this problem I have. I want to re-teach myself calculus from the ground up over the summer, so what I'm asking from you bright folks is any books you might suggest for doing this.

I do have my calculus textbook, but I'd like a supplement to this that focuses on the concepts and applications of calculus, and not just the formulas and steps for messing with functions, without understanding what it is you're actually doing with those functions. Hopefully that makes sense...

Physics news on Phys.org
Two books that I really like

how to ace calculus
how to ace the rest of calculus

both by Abigail Thompson

These books are fun to read and they explain calculus very well

good luck