1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying for some area which seems not right for you

1. Dec 20, 2017 #1
    Hey everyone. I just found out about the forum and already discovered a lot of good and useful content. Anyway, is anyone in or studying for some area of knowlegde which just seems that it's not the right thing for you? And that physics, astronomy, mathematics or, perhaps, other fields related are what you want to spend your time doing?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 20, 2017 #2
    Are you implying that you are?

4. Dec 20, 2017 #3
    I can relate. Before I get into university, I already started self-learning physics, math, engineering and other stuffs. I plan to get into research area. Without a degree, it'll be harder. Now, I'm studying electrical engineering in an university. Every day it's a "torture" to sit down, re-learn and doing all those trivial things that I've already learned before. I don't feel like I'm learning anything substantially useful at the moment. The curriculum is even less rigorous than how I learned the subject before. BTW, I'm not saying that attending university is a bad idea, it looks like I'm the only student who has this problem, while others are having very good review towards their uni life/experience. Maybe I'll also change my view towards my university when the curriculum gets harder or when things get more practical in later year, but let's talk about what's happening at the moment.