Suggestions for beginner in Robotics?

In summary, the conversation revolves around a person who is a beginner in robotics and is looking for suggestions on how to start learning. They are interested in making simple robots or circuit designs at home and are also considering reading books or watching online videos. The conversation also touches on the option of joining a training institute for automation and robotics, specifically in India. The person is also seeking recommendations for courses to take at such institutes as an Electronics and Telecom engineer. A suggestion is made to contact ABB Research in Bangalore for more information.
ramdas
I am studying Electronics and Telecom Engineering and beginner in Robotics.I want to make serious start from scratch with interest but confused from where to start.So can anyone give some suggestions for
1.As a beginner in robotics ,are there some simple and basic robots or circuit designs which I can make by myself in the home(so that I can gain practical knowledge of robots)?
2.or should I first read books (can anyone suggest some good reference book names,articles ,links,free on-line video lecture series)?

Physics news on Phys.org
You could check out the Arduino platform. It's basically a computer that can read sensors and drive actuators. The limit is your imagination and how much you want to spend.

Some makers have built simple robot wheeled vehicles using the arduino to control speed and direction with some added sensors to prevent wall collisions or detect a light source or sound source...

http://www.arduino.cc

Wikipedia has a summary of what arduino is about that may be a good starting point too

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arduino

I have recently completed my engineering in Electronics and Telecom stream.I am still a fresher and wanting to get placement in the robotics and automation based company .For that I am planning to join training institute. So