1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Other Tattoos in academia

1. Jun 28, 2016 #1
    Hello, Sorry if this is the wrong place to post it but thought it related to careers

I am currently a undergrad with the aspirations of becoming a lecturer in physics at a university. (I know this is unlikely to happen but I have to give it my best shot) I was wondering if any people on here who are phd students, post docs, lecturers etc know how academia as a whole looks upon people with tattoos? As I already have some coverage on my legs and over the next 15-20 years intended to get both arms, both legs, back and possibly chest done, with 1 leg and 1 arm being completed by the end of the phd (if I get one of course). Note that I wont be getting any tattoos on my hand, neck, face or head so when needed I can cover all my tattoos.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 28, 2016 #2

analogdesign

Science Advisor

At least in California, nobody cares. One of my co-workers (a physics postdoc) has full sleeves. Another (an assistant professor) has purple streaks in his hair and yet another (a male) has earrings. I would say tattoos are somewhat rare but not unheard of.

Not getting a neck or face tattoo is a good idea.

4. Jun 28, 2016 #3

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I suspect that would be the least of your worries. Universities tend to be rather liberal places, although, there are some smaller or private institutions that may frown on it.

I supposed to an extent the nature of the artwork can play a role too. Prison/gang/hate-related tattoos aren't likely to be accepted, but that probably goes without saying.

5. Jun 28, 2016 #4
    Thank you for the replies! :D

6. Jun 29, 2016 #5