No Work Done on a Textbook: Explanation of Concept

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of work and its relation to displacement. It is explained that no work is done on a textbook when it is moved horizontally at a constant velocity. This is because work is dependent on displacement and the angle between the force and displacement vectors. The formula for work is W = FΔs cos θ, where θ represents the angle between the force and displacement vectors. When the vectors are perpendicular, no work is done, but when they are parallel, work is performed.
Hockey101
1. Hey everyone! I am currently studying for my final exam and I am trying to review work to start out. When I was reading, it gave me an example of where a person is holding a textbook and the person moves the textbook in the horizontal direction. Under the picture they gave an explanation which says: No work is done on a textbook when carried in the horizontal direction at a constant velocity.

2. None

3. Considering Work depends on displacement, I just thought that if you move a textbook up or down and that is displacement, then why can't there be displacement if you move the textbook (or anything) horizontally?

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you know the definition of "work"? I mean, do you know how to calculate it? What do you get if you use that formula to calculate the work performed moving a book horizontally?

From the site that I am reading from...Work is the "force-displacement product". The formula shows to be: W = FΔs cos θ

Ok...so is it because since there is a vertical force and the displacement is horizontal, then that's why work is not being done? So with that in mind, if there was a horizontal force and a horizontal displacement, then there would be work being done on the textbook?