The set of squares of rational numbers is inductive

In summary, the set of squares of rational numbers is inductive based on the definition of an inductive set. This can be shown by first proving that 0 is in the set, as 0 is 0^2 and is rational. Then, it must be shown that if x is in the set, then x+1 is also in the set. This can be demonstrated by taking x to be m/n, where m and n are integers and either m or n is odd, and showing that x+1 can be written in the form of p^2/q^2, satisfying the definition of a rational squared. However, upon further inspection, it is noted that the set is not fully inductive, as there are
mrchris

Homework Statement

The set of squares of rational numbers is inductive

Homework Equations

definition of an inductive set

The Attempt at a Solution

sorry i know this is probably very easy to most but I am just learning analysis. Okay, so we can see that 1 is in the set because it is rational and 12 exists. Am I correct in thinking that it doesn't matter whether or not 12 is rational? I mean obviously it is, but aren't we really just checking to make sure that S(1) is defined? Then for the second part, we can take S(x) to be x2 whenever x=m/n, where m,n are integers and either m or n is odd. Again, aren't we basically proving that if S(x) exists, or (m2/n2) exists, then S(x+1), or [(m+n)2/n2] also exists. But then don't I also need to show that if x is rational, then so is x+1? Maybe i am reading way too much into this, but again I am new to these and I'm trying to understand exactly what I need to show.

Physics news on Phys.org
No, you're pretty much correct. Let S be the set of the squares of rationals. To show it's inductive you need to show that 0 is in S (it is because 0 is [itex]0^{2}[/itex] and 0 is rational). Then you need to show that if x is in S, then x+1 is in S.