The temperture of the universe

• Thread starter tiredryan
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Universe
In summary: It would seem that the expanding universe will have a minimal effect on the temperature of the universe or is my logic faulty?In summary, the average temperature of the universe is currently 2.725 +/- 0.002 K, but it may change in the distant future if we are able to convert most or all of the mass of the universe into energy. The calculation for the energy of the universe, if converted, is around 9x10^71 J. However, the temperature of the universe is primarily affected by the big bang, which was the most energetic event in its history. As the universe continues to expand, it will cool down, approaching absolute zero. This is due to the fact that
tiredryan
I am a new student to physics, and I am thinking about the average temperature of the universe. I have found that it is 2.725 +/- 0.002 K.

I am wondering what will the temperature be if we convert most or all of the mass of the universe into energy? If my understanding is correctly, mass in a system does not contribute to temperature whereas energy may. I am guessing in the very distance future we may be able to convert the entire masses of planets into usable energy, prolonging the possible eventual heat/cold death of the universe. Will the average temperature of the universe change when convert mass into energy?

Here are some back of the envelope calculations. Correct me if I am wrong since I am new to physics. The average mass of the universe is around 10^55 kg. Using E=mc^2, the energy of the universe, if converted to energy, is around 9x10^71 J.

References:
http://www.straightdope.com/columns/read/2172/whats-the-temperature-of-space
http://hypertextbook.com/facts/2006/KristineMcPherson.shtml

Last edited:
Astronomy news on Phys.org