Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Timescale to propagate a perturbation through a system?

1. Feb 16, 2009 #1
    Hi,

I'm a geologist, and I really suck in physics so I would need some help, please!!! This is not a homework question, I'm an academic!!! This is for my research...

Let's say I have a "box" (a river catchment) with a mass, M, of material (sediments) in this box, which resides in the box for a time, T. There's a flux in the box, Fin, balanced by a flux out of the box, Fout, and equal to M/T (see attached PDF file)

Let's say I change Fin to a new value, Fin_new. I have the gut feeling it would take the time T for this perturbation to propagate through the box and for Fout to reach a new value (Fout_new = Fin_new).... but I have no idea how to put that in equations (for example, express Fout as a function of T and the old and new values of Fin).
    Any help, please???

Thanks in advance

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 17, 2009 #2
    If the catchment had zero volume, then surely Fout=Fin regardless of how Fin might vary in the future (eg: Fin_new). However, the purpose of the catchment (which has a non trivial volume) is to allow the absorption of excess mass (Fin_new - Fin_old) over an initial transition time (T'). Once the catchment has filled up, then Fin_new = Fout_new.

So, Fout_new gradually increases above Fout_old until T' has elapsed, thereafter Tout_new stabilizes and equals Tin_new. During that transition phase, the catchment was acquiring the excess Mass (delta_M).

4. Feb 17, 2009 #3

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

I have seen this exact problem treated somewhere (I think it in the context of maintaining a fluid level), but I can't recall where- it's a "system with lag", and I think it's nonlinear.