Transcript vs Research - grad school admissions

In summary: I think that the committee would be impressed by this research experience, and would view it as a strength.
tachyon4
Transcript vs Research -- grad school admissions

Background: I'm a sophomore math/physics major with a 3.9 GPA at a top-ten school. I've begun grad-level studies in physics and have made room in my schedule for me to more-or-less complete the masters curriculum by the time I graduate two years from now. I hope to attend a top-ten grad school for theoretical physics (QIT or QFT, I think).

But here's my problem: I have no research experience beyond small summer projects and the basic requirements of my courses. I assume grad schools consider both difficulty of coursework and research experience when making admissions decisions, so I wonder: are both of these elements are necessary or can exceptional coursework compensate for a lack of research?

Due to time constraints, I doubt my ability to maintain my progress in advanced coursework while also taking part in research: it seems that I must choose... and do so before I lose the opportunity to give either route a strong effort.

I'm leaning toward the coursework side of the debate because I think my transcript would set me apart from most applicants. I also think that any research I were to do would not set me apart: it's impossible (understandably) for an undergrad to get a job in quantum theory, so I'd likely end up in a chemistry lab doing experimental research purely for the sake of my grad school applications. Is this analysis reasonable?

Basically, I don't want to put all of this time into difficult coursework only to get screwed over by grad school admissions because I didn't participate the obligatory tradition of undergrad research.

Another concern: I hear letters of rec are important for admissions. Will a strong letter from a professor whose class I took hold as much weight as a letter from a research supervisor?