Is it worth transferring grad school for a change in research focus?

In summary, the speaker is a 2nd year PhD student who originally planned to focus on high energy phenomenology and theory in grad school. However, after working on a programming-based project in the past summer, they realized it was not a good fit for their abilities and now want to switch to theory and do more analytic work. Unfortunately, the theory faculty they were interested in working with is leaving the department and there may not be any other options for theory research at their current university. The speaker is considering transferring to another university, but is unsure if their reasons are legitimate. They have also not published any research yet. They are seeking advice on whether to transfer and are aware that starting over in a new field may be challenging.
puzzled_grad
Hi,

I am a 2nd year international PhD student in a mid-tier US university. When I applied to grad school as an undergrad I intended to do high energy phenomenology and theory.

In the past summer I worked on a pheno project, which was my first project in grad school (was taking courses in first year). I enjoyed working with my adviser, but partly because it is programming-based, so are many research in pheno in general, I feel a mismatch of project nature and my ability. (Programming is always my worst part, and I never enjoy coding.)

I have a strong sense that I want to switch to theory and do more analytic work. So I approached the theory faculty I was interested in working when I applied 2 years ago but found that he was leaving the dept permanently. There is a good chance that the only other theory faculty is not taking new students, so I may not be able to switch to theory.

I am considering transferring to another uni, but not sure if the above will constitute legitimate reasons for this. I took QFT1&2 and did well and am reading string theory, if only these help...

Needing advice Thanks!