Tricky trig integral (calc 1/2 level)

In summary: And yes, you could use u-substitution to integrate it.In summary, the conversation discusses a calculus problem involving integrating sin^3(x)cos^5(x) and the different approaches used to solve it. The speaker shares their initial approach using trigonometric identities and graphing, but then realizes a simpler solution using integration by parts. The conversation also touches on the concept of antiderivatives and the importance of considering constants when comparing solutions.
curiousbeaver
Hello,

I am an incoming EE freshman who completed Calculus BC one year ago and Multivariable Calculus last Fall. Right now I'm doing a self-study going over basic calculus again in one of my review books.

Here is my problem:
[tex]\int sin^3(x)cos^5(x) dx[/tex]

and I solved it, with an answer my graphing calculator showed to be non-equivalent to the book answer:

= [tex]\int sin(x)(\frac{1-cos(2x)}{2})(\frac{1+cos(2x)}{2})^2cos(x) dx[/tex]

(expanding terms) = [tex]\int sin(x)cos(x)(\frac{1+cos(2x)-cos^2(2x)-cos^3(2x)}{8}) dx[/tex]

using sin(2x) = 2sin(x)cos(x), I integrated:

[tex]\frac{1}{8} \int \frac{sin(2x)}{2} + \frac{sin(2x)}{2}cos(2x) - \frac{sin(2x)}{2}cos^2(2x) - \frac{sin(2x)}{2}cos^3(2x) dx [/tex]

u = 2x, du = 2dx
u = sin(2x), du = 2cos(2x)dx
u = cos(2x), du = -2sin(2x)dx

My solution = [tex](1/16)sin^2(2x) - (1/32)cos(2x) + (1/24)cos^3(2x) + (1/32)cos^4(2x) + C[/tex]

Their solution = [tex]-(1/6)cos^6(x) + (1/8)cos^8(x) + C[/tex]

Like I said I graphed the solutions on my TI89 and they are not equivalent. What is also very difficult for me to understand is that I graphed my expansion of the integral vs the original integral, showing them to be equal. I then used the integration function to graph the integrals of the original and my expansion and they were shown to be different!