Tutoring High School Kids: Perfecting My Skills

In summary, one possible way to motivate students is to give them rewards, like presents. This is done in a good way and does not involve any favors from the students. Rewards like this can help motivate them and help them to improve their skills.
Aerodynamic20
Hello folks,

This may seem out of topic but I would like to know how to perfect my skills in tutoring high school kids. Just a little introduction. I am a third year Biochemistry student here in Canada and I teach my students Chemistry and Math.

Why I am asking the question is that when I try to explain to them some concepts they keep on asking why and it keeps on getting they get confused. For instance, I was explaining the other how electrons spin around orbits and the student asked me why and I tried to explain the basic quantum chemistry but again she kept on getting confused. I was wondering if it is me who is making it complicated or some students are not attentive.

I appreciate your ideas, comments and any additional tips that would make my students successful. I know I have the knowledge but to pass it may rather be difficult.

P.S. I am not planning to pursue career in Education. I am just volunteering to tutor high school kids, grade 10,11 and 12.

Physics news on Phys.org
At least you have them asking questions.

I think one hurdle that you have to overcome with tutoring is that you will inevitably encounter students who expect you to do the thinking for them. They want you to tell them the answer as quickly and with as little effort on their past as possible. And often, as tutors or instructors, we can feel that if we don't spit it out clearly and concisely so that they understand that we are somehow failing.