Two Protons Colliding- Stable Nuclei?

In summary, two protons can collide and become a stable nucleus through a process called proton-proton fusion, which is a key reaction in the sun. It requires high temperatures to overcome the electrostatic repulsion between the protons, and the strong nuclear force then binds them together to form stable nuclei. However, in the sun, this process is aided by quantum tunneling, which allows particles to cross barriers even if they do not have enough energy to do so in classical physics.
axel65
Hi, I'm new to this forum, so I'm sorry if I've posted this in he wrong catergory.

Anyway, I'm studying AS physics at the moment and my teacher was giving the class some lessons about the strong nuclear force and electrostatic repulsion of nucleons making the nucleus stable.

To get to the point, we started woundering whether two protons could collide with each other, providing they had sufficient energy, to become a stable nuclei- i.e. the protons could get close enough for the electrostatic repulsion and the strong nuclear force to balance. The physics teacher was unsure, and the chemistry teacher told me it wasn't possible, but didn't have time to give an explanation, so I still don't understand why. Can anybody help me out? :confused:

Thanks, Alex

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, they can.

It takes substantial energy - but it does happen, it's just difficult to achieve on earth.

However, the process of proton-proton fusion is one of the key reactions that takes place in the sun. 2 Hydrogen nuclei (protons) fuse to produce a deuterium nucleus (1 proton, 1 neutron) and a positron (positive electron). Subsequently, the deuterium nuclei can fuse with protons to form helium.

The electrostatic force provides substantial repulsion, hence the need for very high temperatures (about 15 million K). It is only at high temperatures that the KE of the protons is sufficient to overcome the electrostatic repulsion.