Should I Take Extra Classes to Do Undergrad Research with My Favorite Professor?

In summary: I really like the subject and it's something that I can continue to learn about so I'm sticking with it. I am also majoring in math because it's something that I'm interested in and it will help me in my future career.
Fellowroot
Every physics undergrad at my university has to do a research project with a professor. I haven't really made any real connection with any of the professors except for my quantum mechanics teacher. She is a very nice person and we think alike and get along very well. I would of course like to do my research project with her, but she wants me to take 2 additional courses plus my research an order to do research with her. Her research involves chemistry and chirality. I still haven't actually seen what is involved yet in her research but told her that I would like to see what its all about.

The thing is, I'm already double majoring and my degree is already taking long enough as it is. I don't think I want to add anymore courses and delay my graduation any further, but at the same time I think we would make a great team.

So, do I take extra classes and do research with a person that I like or pick someone else and get it done in just one semester?

She did tell me that if I do a masters in physics that I could always do my masters research project with her. So that could be a possibility later on.

She is actually the first professor to take an interest in me and that means a lot. I have never done research before and don't really know what its like. Does anyone here have an any advice about doing research or does anyone have a research experience to share?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Fellowroot,