Understanding Compactness and Projective Reals: A Beginner's Guide

• Thread starter marellasunny
  • Start date
In summary, the projective reals are a model of the real line, with a natural metric structure/topology. Compactness makes sense when we compare the projective real line to the circle, which has a natural topology.
marellasunny
Can someone please explain 'compactness' by using 'projective reals'?
I understand compactness.I can't quite grasp the term 'projective reals' and make the connection.Please help!I'm a beginner.
(Side note:wiki calls it as a 'the one-point compactification of the real line, or the projectively extended real numbers').Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
The projective reals actually have to do with projective geometry. But explaining projective geometry would probably take us too far as a simpler explanation is possible.

We can define the projective reals by taking the ordinary real numbers [itex]\mathbb{R}[/itex] and adding a special element [itex]\infty[/itex]. This element is intuitively both negative and positive infinity. So we can imagine traversing the real line and once we arrive at positive infinity, we will start back from the very beginning. So the space is "looped" in some sense.

Of course, this has nothing to do with compactness. I can't even talk about compactness now, since I haven't even defined some kind of metric (or topology) on the projective reals. How do we define a metric structure?? Note that the projective reals remind us a lot of a circle, so we might want to use that analogy.

We might want to embed [itex]\mathbb{R}[/itex] in the circle, this can be done by "stereographic projection". Here is a figure:

220px-Stereoprojzero.svg.png

Basically, if we have a real number x, then we draw a line between (x,0) and (0,1). The place where that line intersects the circle is the stereographic projection.

If we do the calculations, then we get

[tex]x\rightarrow (\frac{2x}{x^2+1},\frac{x^2-1}{x^2+1})[/tex]