Understanding Higgs Field Theory: Can Particle Mass Be Modified?

In summary: There are things that can be done to particles to accelerate them to near the speed of light which would increase their effective mass, but I don't think we can change their rest mass.In summary, The Higgs field theory explains how particles acquire mass and suggests that the mass of particles is constant. While we can accelerate particles to increase their effective mass, the current theory does not suggest that we can alter their rest mass.
morgan77
Hello,

This is my first post and I'm by no means a professional, but I am trying to sort out my understanding of the Higgs field theory. As I understand it, particles acquire mass through their interaction with the Higgs field, an electron being the "lightest" and a Top Quark being the "heaviest". My---no doubt absurd---question is this: under the current theory, would it be possible for a particle's interaction to be modified through some method? In other words, if it is proven that the Higgs field exists, and if we were to understand it better than we do now, does current theory suggest that we could alter the mass of particles?

Physics news on Phys.org
morgan77 said:
Hello,

This is my first post and I'm by no means a professional, but I am trying to sort out my understanding of the Higgs field theory. As I understand it, particles acquire mass through their interaction with the Higgs field, an electron being the "lightest" and a Top Quark being the "heaviest". My---no doubt absurd---question is this: under the current theory, would it be possible for a particle's interaction to be modified through some method? In other words, if it is proven that the Higgs field exists, and if we were to understand it better than we do now, does current theory suggest that we could alter the mass of particles?

Not too likely. experimental evidence points to constant rest mass for all fundamental particles (neutrinos are a little confusing).