Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Using analog computer to solve 2nd-order diff eq

1. Mar 15, 2015 #1
    I'm trying to build a circuit to solve the differential equation x''+2x'+x = f(t), where f(t) is a sine wave with frequency 5Hz and amplitude 0.5V. I am supposed to get a sine/cosine wave (as the diff. eq is just the same as the ove governing spring-mass forced oscillation) as solution, but instead I get a delta function every 0.1s with alternating sign. What's wrong with my circuit? How should I modify it to get the solution I want, and what else do I need to pay attention when solving any 2nd-order diff equation with constant coefficients in general?

PS: I'm actually a 1st-year physics student with very little prior experience in circuit. Sorry if this question sounds stupid. thanks

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 15, 2015 #2

analogdesign

Science Advisor

One issue is that the common-mode voltage of the input is wrong. You need to dc bias your input source (by putting a dc source in series) so you're in the common-mode range of your first op amp.

The easiest way to debug this kind of circuit is to simulate each independent block separately and verify they work alone before you hook them up. Circuits the size you show almost never work the first time.

I would suggest, especially since you're a beginner, to debug the architecture of your circuit using voltage-controllled voltage sources (VCVS in SPICE) in place of your opamps. You can find out how to model opamps this way in a million spice tutorials.

Cool circuit, I'm sure you can make it work.

4. Mar 15, 2015 #3

jim hardy

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

My analog computing course was fifty years ago.....
    but i notice

firstly you have all 3 inputs to U2 shorted together at left side of R2 R1 and R3

secondly you use all inverting opamps