Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B Vector parallel and direction

1. Aug 8, 2016 #1
    I am just starting to learn about vectors and I have question regarding vectors and their parallel properties:

Assume that we have two vectors A and B, and they are said to be parallel. We know that in order to be parallel the angle between the two vectors either have to be 0 or 180. However, after consulting StackOverFlow, I am told that "Two vectors are parallel if they have the same direction". Thus, eliminating the fact that the angle between the vectors can't be 180.

So my question is, can someone verify the statement, if two vectors are in the same direction then they are parallel and have an angle of 0.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 8, 2016 #2

Doc Al

Staff: Mentor

That statement is certainly true. But I believe the most useful definition of "parallel vectors" would allow them to have an angle of 0 or 180. (Some call vectors with an angle of 0 parallel and those with an angle of 180 anti-parallel.)

What's the physics context of your question?

4. Aug 8, 2016 #3
    Okay, so for the statement "A unit vector is labeled by a caret; the vector of unit length parallel to A is A(caret)". The unit vector of A is in the same direction as A since it 's parallel. Had they said it was anti-parallel, the angle would be 180 and the vectors would be opposite in direction.

5. Aug 9, 2016 #4

David Lewis

Gold Member

The unit vector and vector A are collinear.

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2016
  6. Aug 19, 2016 #5