Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Voltage Multiplier

1. Apr 8, 2016 #1
    in Voltage Tripler and Quadrupler , why don't current divide between two diodes ( D1 , D3 ) or ( D2 , D4 ) ?
    they are forward in the same cycle , right ?
    I understand that charging happens in a very little time , so two cycles already is not shown on oscilloscope but in BoyleStad is explained that in every half cycles (in the first two) one diode only works ...
    upload_2016-4-8_17-49-43.jpeg

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 8, 2016 #2

cnh1995

Homework Helper

I am no expert but here's what I think..
    Assume the diodes are ideal. Current flows through C1 and D1 because this path offers less impedance than C1-C3-D2-C2 path. There are three caps in the second path, hence reactance offered is more. Also, when D1 turns on, it shorts out C2, D2 and C3.

4. Apr 8, 2016 #3

Svein

Science Advisor

This is a negative voltage quadrupler.
    • C2 and C4 are smoothing capacitors, storing energy between pulses
    • C1 and C3 are coupling capacitors, connecting the pulses from Vi to the diode junctions.
    Now look at the capacitor/diode combinations: C1/D1 rectifies the negative peak pulse voltage and stores it on C1. The pulses are still present, but they are now referred to the voltage across C1. The same argument goes for C3/D3, except that the voltage across C2 is added to the rectified voltage across C3.

In the same way, the negative pulse is rectified across D2 and stored in C2. The resulting voltage across C2 is the sum of the voltage across C1 and the negative pulse amplitude. Finally, The negative pulse is also rectified across D4 and stored in C4. The resulting voltage across C4 is the sum of the voltage across C3 and the negative pulse amplitude. All in all - the voltage on C4 is 4 times the pulse amplitude minus 4 diode drops.

5. Apr 9, 2016 #4