What Are the Best Books for Learning Basic Physics with No Prior Knowledge?

In summary: Nick recommends that an arts student like yourself should study Algebra and Trigonometry in order to be successful in learning Physics. If you don't wish to learn/review math, then he suggests checking out the Khan Academy. If you do wish to learn/review math, he recommends the FHSST Physics website.
nickt
Hi, I'm an arts student out of Canada looking into information about books suitable for teaching myself basic physics. I have absolutely no recollection of high school mathematics or physics so I'm looking for something to build a strong foundation on. I'm thinking of picking up Physics for Dummies or something similar, but I'd like to see if anyone here has any opinions on the subject.

Thanks,
Nick

Physics news on Phys.org
Okay, first you will have review or relearn some mathmatics: physics and math go hand in hand. Can't have one without the other.

Which Physics are you willing to study?
Based on your post you said wanted to learn "High School" physics. Automatically from this, you will want to learn/review Algebra and Trigonometry. If you want to be successful in your study of basic physics it necessary to learn this math.

Math
First will have to have learn/review your Algebra. (Algebra 1 and Algebra 2 from High School, or namely, Elementary and Intermediate Algebra). Here are some free online algebra textbooks:
Algebra (I) = http://www.babylon.k12.ny.us/PDF/integrated_algebra/Integrated_Algebra_1.pdf
Algebra (II) with Trig = http://www.babylon.k12.ny.us/PDF/algebra%202/Algebra%202%20and%20Trigonometry.pdf

Physics
Some online tutorials: http://www.hippocampus.org/ (Contains Algebra and Physics)
If you don't wish to learn/review math: then you may go for a Conceptual Physics book
If you do wish to learn/review math: http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/FHSST_Physics