What Are the Key Considerations for EMC in Designing Laboratory Equipment?

• Thread starter catia
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Focus
In summary, the student wants to redesign a cabinet/casing to meet the requirements for household products. They are focusing on the shielding and gasketing of the new enclosure, and the filtering of cables that go in and out of the enclosure.
catia
Hi

First i should apologies if this should have been posted in the homework sections but the three points that are automatically added to the post before writting doesn't really fit my question, so i decided to post it here.

Then a little info about the situation might be in order.

I'm a design engineering student and started on an internship 4 days ago at a company that makes laboratory equipment for protein identification. I've been given the assignment of designing a new cabinet/casing for one of their apparatus and have to take EMC into account.

I cannot change the design/layout of any of the internal components, electrical or mechanical, i am only allowed to reposition them and so.

From what I've read so far on EMC there are 3 main areas if you want to reduce EM radiation:
*Emitter
*Coupling path
*Receptor

Since I'm not allowed to change the design of the internal components, I'm thinking that i only have to focus on the coupling path and the only way to reduce the coupling path in this case is to use shielding, is this correct or are there other ways?

Engineering news on Phys.org
What do you mean by EMC? There are a number of ways to deal electromagnetic radiation. Shielding is probably the cheapest, and the easiest to implement. By shielding I mean a faraday cage that encompasses the case. Another way of dealing with EM radiation is an active field cancelling system. What is the nature of your design? Is it to keep electromagnetic interference out of your box, or is it to keep your box from interfering with other processes outside of your box?