What do you wish you had done before?

• Thread starter integration
  • Start date
In summary: Green's/Stokes' theorems2nd: 1st/2nd Order ODE, homogeneous, Bernouilli3rd: Linear Algebra.4th: Laplace Transform, Fourier SeriesLast: proof-based ODEIn summary, the conversation discusses a student's preparation for studying engineering physics in college. They mention studying calculus-based physics, Calculus BC, and vector calculus from a textbook. The student is considering enrolling in an advanced introductory physics class and is seeking advice on how to prepare, specifically in terms of mathematics. They mention struggling with setting up integrals and solving problems involving charge distributions, kinematics, momentum, and acceleration. They also mention having
integration
Hi,

I am about to go to college and study engineering physics. I am studying calc based physics and Calculus BC, and some vector calculus (From the Stewart's textbook).

I think I am going to enroll in a introductory physics class that is more advanced than the usual intro for engineers and scientists this fall. My intro mechanics class will use Kleppner&Kolenkow, and my intro electricity will use math tools like Divergence, Grad, Curl to apply Maxwell's equations.

For those of you who went through that big jump between the rather easy high school physics and the more difficult college theoretical physics, what preparation did you wish you had done? I'm specifically interested in the math preparation, but physics advices are more than welcome.