Debating Wave-Particle Duality of Light

In summary: So, even if you don't understand the math, you can still understand the theory.In summary, Wave-particle duality is an outdated/introductory level explanation of the nature of light. Today, light is considered neither a wave nor a (massive) particle, but something else entirely.
rdunk4
Hi,

A friend and I have been having a long standing debate on the nature of light, being an uneducated layman I tend to stick to the conventional interpretation of wave-particle duality but my friend maintains that light is solely a wave.

He found this link at [link to crackpot website removed - Zz.] to back up his idea. Is there any truth in this?Thx

Last edited by a moderator:
Science news on Phys.org
I'm a little thin on the particulars, but since no one else responded...

The "wave particle" duality by now is an outdated/introductory level explanation of the nature of light. Today, light is considered neither a wave nor a (massive) particle, but something else entirely.

I'll confess to not reading much of the link, but at first glance, it appears to be crackpottery. That light can be quantized is critical to quantum mechanics and very well established experimentally.

Wave-particle duality applies to everything. Light happens to be very wave-like because it has no mass, it still has particle qualities. Look up a list of fundamental particles. The photon will be included.

Ok, I guess I should have been a little clearer.

I thought that wave-particle duality was the theory that light was a special quantised form of matter, that acted like a particle and a wave. I know that it is neither, it just has some particle-like properties and some wave-like properties. (So what is this theory called?)