Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What is positive electricity?

1. Aug 6, 2017 #1
    As an electronic engineering graduate, I was taught that positive electricity was the flow of "holes" created by the absence of electrons. These holes and the vector movement are modeled as the "positive" flow of electricity. Why then do I hear experts refer to proton current as positive electricity? Sorry if this question is in the wrong place, I am new to this site.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 6, 2017 #2

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

In certain situations, such as in electrochemical cells or fuel cells perhaps, there is a very real proton/positive ion current. I believe this current follows all the usual rules for electrical circuits, just like holes do. Perhaps someone with more experience in this area can give you a more in-depth answer.

4. Aug 6, 2017 #3

sophiecentaur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

That expression is not in general circulation. How many references can you give for use of the term? Also 'electricity' is a general 'catch all' term for 'electrical power, electrical current or a general study of the whole subject'. Electric Current is a flow of (often just theoretical) positive charges. That is often indistinguishable from negative electrons flowing in the opposite direction. An ammeter in series with a metallic conductor would be aware just of a conventional current. Likewise for a P type semiconductor, the ammeter would just interpret what we call 'holes' as a current AND for a flow of positive ions, as mentioned by Drakkith, above. The charges actually passing through the ammeter would (almost certainly) still be electrons.