What is the significance of S-Matrix in Quantum Field Theory?

In summary, the S-Matrix theory is a fundamental concept in quantum field theory that describes the scattering of quantum states or fields in a reaction, and is essential in understanding accelerator experiments. To fully understand S-Matrix theory, one must have a strong understanding of mathematics and quantum mechanics.
Ted Baas
Can someone please explain Heisenberg's S-Matrix theory in simple terms. Minimals maths please. Please be as expansive as possible.

Physics news on Phys.org
As with all questions of this sort, you will get better and more helpful answers if you can share what you've already studied and understood, and then pose a more specific question about the parts that you want help with.

I am a novice to all fields of physics except Classical Mechanics. I understand(understand is perhaps too strong a word) Quantum Physics conceptually but not mathematically and I would like to learn about S-Matrix in its entirety(any information helps) but most specifically in its relation to String Theory.

You are venturing yourself into subjects you are not prepared to understand. Take your learning curve into the normal order: mathematical methods, classical mechanics (Newtonian, Lagrange, Hamilton, HJ), Electromagnetism, Quantum Mechanics. Typical QM curricula treat scattering theory (operator formalism) as their final chapter.

Ted Baas said:
[...] I understand (understand is perhaps too strong a word) Quantum Physics conceptually but not mathematically and I would like to learn about S-Matrix in its entirety [...]
Without maths, one cannot say much more about scattering theory except that it relates what goes "in" to a reaction and what comes "out". Think of scattering of classical bodies off a potential well in classical mechanics as a very simple example.