What physics class should I start out with?

In summary, the conversation is about a student who is planning to study Computer Science and is wondering whether to take General College Physics or Calculus before attempting University Physics. The expert suggests taking Calculus 1 and then both Calculus 2 and Calculus-based Physics 1 for a solid foundation. They also mention that Physics 2 will require some Calculus 3 concepts, but it can be managed. Overall, the recommended course of action is to take Calculus-based courses for a better understanding of Physics for Science and Engineering students.
Yarki
Hi everyone. I am currently studying at a community college to attain a degree in Computer Science. I eventually will go on to get a Bachelors in Computer Science therefore will require a semester or two of University Physics or Physics for Engineers depending on which University I attend. I am planning on taking Calculus next semester (I am in Pre-Calculus currently). Being that I have never taken a physics class in my entire life, I am wondering if I should take 2 semesters of General College Physics before attempting to take University Physics? Or should I take Calculus 1 and 2 and then go right into University Physics? (Calculus 1 and 2 are required regardless). I would like to get most of the Calculus and Physics out of the way before going to a university so I have a solid foundation. Any suggestions on what would be the best course of action for me? Any advice is appreciated, thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
I never took high school physics or Algebra-based Physics, and I did just fine with the first two semesters of Calculus-based Physics. Take Calculus 1, and then take both Calculus 2 and Calculus-based Physics 1 (Newtonian Mechanics and possible waves). Physics 1 uses very basic Calculus. In Physics 2 (E&M and Optics), you will come across Calculus 3 concepts but you can easily get by.

Likes Yarki and symbolipoint