What's the meaning of mean photon number?

In summary: I don't remember now. But for single photon sources the mean photon number is always 1, regardless of the integration time.
Tspirit
I am studying Quantum Optics. A single photon state will give the mean photon number of 1, as shown the following equation:
$$<\hat{n}>=<1|\hat{n}|1>=1.$$
For a two-photon number state, the similar calculation will be
$$<\hat{n}>=<2|\hat{n}|2>=2.$$
And for a coherent state, it is
$$<\hat{n}>=<\alpha|\hat{n}|\alpha>=|\alpha|^{2}$$.
However, for the real detection system, the mean photon number is related to the integration time: the more time, the more mean photon number. Then I have several questions:
(1) Given a light state, is the mean photon number related to the integration time of the detector?
(2) For a light of 1 Watt in the single photon state, or coherent state, how to calculate their mean photon numbers?

Physics news on Phys.org
Tspirit said:
I am studying Quantum Optics. A single photon state will give the mean photon number of 1, as shown the following equation:
However, for the real detection system, the mean photon number is related to the integration time: the more time, the more mean photon number. Then I have several questions:
(1) Given a light state, is the mean photon number related to the integration time of the detector?
(2) For a light of 1 Watt in the single photon state, or coherent state, how to calculate their mean photon numbers?
The mean photon number per unit time is given by the Poisson distribution. So the mean count is related to the integration time. The time between events is the negative exponential of the mean ##e^{-\mu}## if I remember correctly.

You'll need the power spectrum of the light source tro make an estimate of the mean photon count for different modes based on the energy of a single photon.

Tspirit said: