1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Which corners faster - car or motorcycle?

1. Feb 9, 2011 #1
    I've been turning this over in my head for a week & the answer is way beyond me, maybe y'all can help.

There's a painted line that arcs 90 degrees over say 200'. A car follows that line with it's outside tires. A moto does the same. Which vehicle can travel fastest before the tires lose adhesion? How would someone even calculate this?

The example can be tweaked into whatever is a more fair comparison, so if the car needs to straddle the line, etc. Also assume all other things are equal, like tire compounds etc. The question is really about how two wheels leaning into a turn differ from a 4-wheel flat car platform.

Here's what I'm thinking. First, I'm no engineer, just thinking out loud. Adhesion is a result of mass (centrifugal force here) vs the tire's friction coefficient. I would think the size of the contact patch would be relevant too but it would increase with mass so I'm thinking it's a non-issue.

So it seems the vector of the centrifugal force is the same with either a leaning bike or a flat car, right? And if so, they would both slide out at the same speed. Is this correct?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 9, 2011 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

A car typically has aerodynamic downforce, which increases its traction capabilities versus a motorcycle.

4. Feb 9, 2011 #3
    Assume downforce isn't an issue here.

5. Feb 9, 2011 #4
    Hmmm... maybe I don't know what I'm talking about(certainly possible!!) but I thought that a motorcycle can turn much more acutely than a car.
    With a motorcycle, one has the potential benifit of "leaning into the curve" which is not possible with a car.
    A car without lean will flip over durring a sharp curve.