Why does the Principle of Virtual Work work without higher math?

In summary, the Principle of Virtual Work allows us to solve equilibrium problems without the use of algebraic equations.
observer1
The last chapter of most introductory textbooks on STATICS introduces VIRTUAL WORK.

It is rarely taught (I studied the syllabi of colleagues).

I understand the Principle of Virtual Work, having researched and studied the Calculus of Variations, Hamilton's Principle, the Lagrangian and related items.

But I am trying to give myself a short, concise justification for why VIRTUAL WORK... works, but WITHOUT the higher math justifications.

For example, the opening chapter of one text on Statics states:

"The principle of virtual work was pioneered by Bernoulli. It provides an alternative methof for solving equilibrium problems... The PVW states that if a system exists in equilibrium, then the sum of all the work done by virtual displacments is 0"

Well (and please forgive me): whoppie-do, so it does. Like magic, it works.

Well, can someone justify why it works WITHOUT recourse to the higher mathematics I mentioned above?

I am hoping for a concise justification on why it should work... without the math.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
This does not answer the question of the OP directly, but it is relevant to the topic of VW.

The practical application of VW requires a mechanism (methodology) for dealing with kinematics in a wide variety of situations. Without a formal study of kinematics, particularly the use of vector loop equations and their derivatives, this methodology is usually missing. This makes the application of VW difficult for all but the simplest problems, and consequently leads to its neglect.

I think that in statics this principle is useless indeed while its dynamical version the Lagrange–d'Alembert principle is very important

zwierz said:
I think that in statics this principle is useless..."

How so?