X from a curved triangle

• Thread starter m1ke_
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

I'm having a hard time figuring out what to do here and it feels as though it involves converting the function into polar coordinates but I'm not a hundred percent sure.

Essentially, I have a triangle in which two sides are straight and one side is a curved function. Knowing only the length of one side, the angle between them, and the function, I need to either be able to find the other straight side or x. I do not need help with solving it but more so just guidance on how I would go about solving it. I've included a mspaint attempt at drawing it.

Thanks in advance

Attachments

Answers and Replies

Redbelly98
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Insights Author
What is your application? Or is this a homework or self-study problem?

The application is towards image processing. I am a coop student and am deriving equations for a project so I cannot go into very much detail.
I've tried using polar coordinate system but my equation blows up when I approach 90 degrees, arc length seems like a reasonable approach but I am not fully certain on what to do.

Redbelly98
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Insights Author
Okay, we are careful around here about helping people with homework. So it's good to know this is not a homework problem :smile:

attachment.php?attachmentid=31641&d=1296076080.jpg

I guess you've tried some obvious ways to do this, but let me just suggest the first thing that comes to my mind. There may be reasons why it won't work; if so I'll leave it to you to provide more info.

May I presume line L is in a known orientation (perhaps vertical)? That means the slop of the other straight side -- let's call it M -- is known.