Biomedical engineer vs Biomedical Physics

In summary, for those interested in pursuing a career in biomedical engineering, there are various paths one can take. It is possible to enter the field with a mechanical engineering degree and receive on-the-job training, or pursue a master's degree in biomedical engineering with a mechanical engineering background. Additionally, some universities offer a dual major in biomedical physics and mechanical engineering, which may increase chances of obtaining a well-paid BME job. It is also worth considering the admission requirements for graduate programs and job positions in order to determine the necessary skills for success in the field.
nicolasg
I'm a freshman at SIUC and right now my major is mechanical engineering. In the future I want to make prosthetics which is into biomedical engineering. I read that it is possible to get a job as a biomedical engineer with a mechanical engineer degree with some on the job training. I also read that I can go to graduate school for a master's in biomedical engineering with a mechanical engineering degree. My university offers Biomedical Physics. If I duel major in biomedical physics and mechanical engineering, do I have a good chance of getting a well paid biomedical engineering job? Also, there is a few schools that offer biomedical engineering as a bachelor's degree major. Would I have a better chance transferring to a school that has it?

Physics news on Phys.org