Difference in BS and MS Applied Math

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's dilemma of pursuing a MS in applied or pure math with a background in applied math. They are unsure of the difference between a MS and a BS in applied math and whether a MS in pure math would be a better option. The conversation also mentions the courses taken for the BS and the requirements for a MS in pure math. The speaker seeks advice on their decision and the necessary courses for a MS in pure math.
tmbrwlf730
Hello everyone. I'm majoring in applied math and physics and was considering going for a MS in math and later if I can a PhD in physics. I'm not sure if I should pursue a MS in applied or pure math because I will be getting a BS in applied math. I'm not sure what would be the difference between a MS and a BS in applied math. I know more work is required in the classes but other than that does anyone know the difference? Should I pursue a MS in pure math instead? Classes I've taken for the BS are matrix algebra, Fourier series, differential equations, probability, statistics, complex variables, modern algebra, intro to analysis, vector analysis, and or course Cal I - III. Thank you for your help.

Physics news on Phys.org
I have applied for my MS in applied mathematics... I've got a heavy background in applied math and not a ton of pure (only the generic core requirements like analysis and such). Whether it's "more" work than your BS, I don't think anyone can really say without the specifics of your program. I would imagine a course-work only MS in applied math is more of what you've done, but up the stepping stones to the next level. A major research paper, or I gather a full blown thesis, would definitely be more rigorous and demanding; at least it appears that way with friends I have doing math PhD stream right now (in pure maths).