Lost in a physics career and willing to return

In summary, the speaker has a bachelor's degree in physics and a master's degree in geophysics, but feels that their initial goal of becoming a physicist was not achieved due to personal struggles and a lack of purpose. They are interested in returning to basics and studying physics, particularly E&M, but do not have a clear career goal in mind. They have worked as a physics and math teacher and a customer service agent, but are considering a switch to a different field. They are concerned about getting stuck in academia and losing motivation.
member 692476
Hello,

I am remembering that I started a bachelor in physics from 2005/6, 15/16 years ago but I feel I got stuck in that, I graduated in 2012 after many personal struggles to cope with. I loved physics and the idea to find something new and it was hard to cope with the reality that there is a lot of work done, a lot of theory from past centuries, and this sense of feeling that is impossible to discover something without passing for all of this difficult path and the academia. I want to come back to study the basics in a main undergraduate program for physics, because I feel I lost the basic knowledge in those canonical courses. I also got a masters in geophysics and a sense of no purpose for my initial idea of being a physicist. Do you know if there are any group study to make review of areas in physics?, I would like to know if some of you have experienced something similar, so please leave a comment. By the way, I am looking for a very simple book for statistics, something analogue to the Segway's Physics for Scientist and Engineers.

Thanks,

Physics news on Phys.org
To start, what was your bachelor's degree in?

ericksadiz said:
I graduated in 2012 after many personal struggles to cope ...

ericksadiz said:
I also got a masters in geophysics and a sense of no purp
I ALSO am curious, what was your undergraduate degree in?

My bachelors degree was in physics.