Modeling Surface Reaction (CVD) on ANSYS Fluent

In summary, the speaker is seeking help with modeling a single surface reaction in Ansys and Fluent for a CVD reactor. The desired reaction is CH4 (g) -> C(s) + 2H2 (g). However, the speaker is unsure of how to set up the mixture and reaction, particularly with regards to 'site' and 'solid' species. The process may be more complex than initially thought, with possible reactions including CH4 (g) -> CH2 (g) + H2 (g) and CH2 (g) -> C(s) + H2 (g). The speaker is looking for guidance on how to approach this problem.
grapheeene
Hi guys,

First of all, thank you for your help. I am new in Ansys and Fluent (less than a month), hoping to learn.

I am trying to model a simple and single surface reaction

CH4 (g) -> C(s) + 2H2 (g)

on a "CVD reactor" to grow C(s) (graphene, or graphite). The inlets are gases inyections of Ar and CH4 at the top of the CVD, and two thin parallel Cu surfaces are in the center (the catalyst), where C would be deposited. I am trying to model the growth of C(s) and the amount of H2 on the entire region, with and without thermodifussion (Soret).

The question is that I have some trouble with setting up the mixture and the reaction. I have a confusion with 'site' and 'solid' species in this case, and with reactions and mechanisms (since it's only superficial). I need the system to stop generating H2 when the surface is full of C(s).

Can you guys give me some basic steps to start this?? I don't know how to get the adsorption done. Do I need another reaction??

I guess this problem is not hard to be solved. Thanks so much for your help!

Engineering news on Phys.org
grapheeene said:
I am trying to model a simple and single surface reaction

CH4 (g) -> C(s) + 2H2 (g)
I don't believe the process is that simple. From what I've seen in the literature, the process may be more like:

CH4 (g) -> CH2 (g) + H2 (g)

CH2 (g) -> C(s) + H2 (g)