Physics researcher/student needing new laptop

In summary, a cheap laptop with a solid state hard disk and up to 12 gigs of ram should be sufficient for your needs.
Hshc
Hello,

I'm a physics student (currently a senior in college, planning on going to graduate school for a Ph.D.). My current laptop is encountering major problems, mostly small things that make it not worth investing more money into the laptop, given that it's already old.

I currently do experimental particle physics research so I want to make sure I get a new laptop that is able to handle what I do: I do a lot of simulations and data analysis. C++ and ROOT are my go-to, but I also use Mathematica and Python quite a bit.

What specs would you recommend for a laptop? I was thinking an i5 processor, 8GB RAM, and a 256 or 512 SSD, but I don't want to go overboard and spend a lot of extra money if I don't need it. I also was thinking about getting a Unix-based OS (either Ubuntu or Mac), given that SO many tasks that I need four or five applications on Windows, I could just do on the terminal. Thoughts?

Thanks! :)

Computer science news on Phys.org
Hshc said:
planning on going to graduate school for a Ph.D.
In some places, you can get a laptop as part of the PhD position. Could that be an option?
Hshc said:
I currently do experimental particle physics research so I want to make sure I get a new laptop that is able to handle what I do: I do a lot of simulations and data analysis.
Does that happen on the laptop itself or on some remove machine where you just need ssh?
Hshc said:
I also was thinking about getting a Unix-based OS
That is probably a good idea.

mfb said:
In some places, you can get a laptop as part of the PhD position. Could that be an option?
I will have to buy my own computer. I have computers in the labs I work in, but I like being able to do work from home, or while visiting my parents. Physics doesn't stop.

mfb said: