Physics undergrad looking to buy a new laptop

In summary, the first year physics student is struggling to find a laptop that meets his needs and budget. He's leaning towards a Lenovo laptop with 8GB of RAM and dual core processing, but is also open to other brands. He's concerned about the price and whether he'll be able to use the laptop for his coursework next semester.
starstruck_
Hey! So, I’m a first year physics student and I’m (finally) getting a new laptop. I bought an acer laptop with 4 GB RAM and dual core processing at the beginning of high school, just something to get me through, but it’s not working for me anymore. It’s super slow, freezes a lot ( I lost a 10 make question on an online assignment because the thing froze up), and can never seem to connect to the internet properly.

The problem that I’m finding is that what I’m going for doesn’t seem to fall under my budget unless it’s a refurb and I’ve never bought a refurb before so I’m not sure how good of an idea that is ( I am going to wait for Black Friday or cyber Monday though, if that makes any difference on a brand new one)

This is kind of what I’m leaning towards:

. 8 GB RAM
. Dual core processing
. Light weight (I commute)

I’m not really sure what other specs I require.
Uh I guess another important piece of information is that I have my computing for the physical sciences course next semester and we use MATLAB in that course. That’s about it.

I’m also not trying to go back to acer again, preferably dell or HP. I can’t afford a Mac.

My budget is a huge problem (we’re low income) so even this is kind of stretching it but uh $600-650 max

Computer science news on Phys.org
The general rule of thumb is to upgrade once every five years for personal machines and once every three years for business machines unless you work at a frugal business (university...) and then its whenever.