Prove equivalence of elementary operations in Gauss Algorithm

In summary: Then you write the multiplication by k as ##ka_1x_1 + ka_2x_2 + ... + ka_nx_n = ky_j##. In summary, the conversation discusses proving that replacing one equation in a system of linear equations by a non-zero multiple of itself does not change the solution of the system. The proposed solution involves multiplying a specific row by a non-zero constant and proving that this does not affect the solution of the system. It is noted that this proof does not require induction and can be made clearer by using mathematical notation.
4Fun

Homework Statement

Prove that replacing one equation in a system of linear equations by a non-zero multiple of itself does not change the solution of the system.

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm still relatively new to proofs, so this is what I have come up with:

Let S be a system of n equations and n unknowns and assume that S has a unique solution(is this assumption too strong?). Also assume that the other two elementary operations do not change the solution of S.
Let j be an arbitrary row and multiply row j by a non-zero constant k.
Now during the elimination process: Let i be the row that includes the current pivot element. Assume i<j, so that the element in the column of the pivot element in row j has to be eliminated. Assume that prior to multiplying row j by the constant k, you would have had to add a-times the i-th row to row j to eliminate the specific element. Since row j was multiplied by k, you now have to add a*k-times row i to row j in order to eliminate that element.

Well now I'm wondering wether this is basically sufficient to prove equivalence, or whether I should use induction to prove that this is valid for all elimination steps?

Physics news on Phys.org