Sodium dithionite reducing properties of nh3

In summary, this product claims to reduce the toxicity of free ammonia in water by turning it into ammonium. It also reduces chlorine and nitrite and nitrate.
caliban07
What would be the reducing reaction for these in water?

Chemistry news on Phys.org
This probably belongs in the homework section. What are your thoughts so far?

Ok sorry. I believe this is used in some water conditioners to make water safe for aquatic livestock.

There is a particular product that renders nh3 to it's non toxic ionised state nh4. I was told this product was a a reducing agent. I looked up reducing agents and found that a reducing agent is an electron donor yet nh4 is the protonised form of nh3.

I'm not a scientist I am just seeking some basic info on how reducing agents work.

caliban07 said:
nh3 to it's non toxic ionised state nh4
"Non-toxic?" Depends on "context" and the anion (you don't find single ionic species in solution --- I'm reasonably certain you know that), nitrate and/or nitrite are blamed for "blue babies," just about any ammonium salts are implicated in gouty arthritis. Free ammonia in solution implies fairly high pH which is trouble for most aquatic beasties. Phosphoric acid is (if memory serves) the usual additive for dropping pH in aquaria. Bottom line, there's not a whole lot of redox chemistry for ammonia/ammonium in aquaria that does not involve bacterial activity to generate nitrite and nitrate.
caliban07 said:
I'm not a scientist I am just seeking some basic info on how reducing agents work.

Oxidizers remove electrons (or accept electrons --- difference between armed robbery and a bribe) from other chemical species and are reduced in the process. Reducing agents give up electrons to other chemical compounds, and are in the process oxidized.