Solve 3 Phase Total Power Problems

In summary, the student has encountered difficulty in understanding the equations for 3 phase systems. They have shared their attempt at the solution and included links to online resources. After discussing with another person, they have realized that their calculation was correct and that the difference lies in the calculation of line currents versus load branch currents.
billyray

Homework Statement

I have included the problems attached below. I have looked at a recent post and the equations made sense to me but I am very new to 3 phase systems basically know only what I have learned from trying to answer my questions. i feel my attempt is wrong from what I have seen online as total power equation in 3 phase system. I have included link. I am not sure which equation to use now I think mine is wrong.[/B]

Homework Equations

https://www.physicsforums.com/threads/delta-and-star-transformation-ac-circuits.791979/
and online 3 phase power solution
https://www.electricaltechnology.org/2014/09/delta-connection-power-voltage-current.html

The Attempt at a Solution

I have attached all my workings[/B]

Attachments

• 3 phase problem.PNG
    3 phase problem.PNG
    23.2 KB · Views: 361
  • 3 phase.pdf
    350.3 KB · Views: 191
Physics news on Phys.org
Your calculations look okay to me. You might want to trim the significant figures in your final power value, maybe express it in kW.

hi gneill
thanks again.
Did you see the online link to P = √3 x VL x IL x CosФ for a balanced system delta. is that not different from mine.

billyray said:
Did you see the online link to P = √3 x VL x IL x CosФ for a balanced system delta. is that not different from mine.